Monday, March 17, 2014

Review: Evening Stars by Susan Mallery

Evening Stars
by Susan Mallery
Series: Blackberry Island #3
Publisher: Harlequin MIRA
Publication date: February 25th 2014
Genre: Women's Fiction
Rating: 4 Stars

In Evening Stars, Susan Mallery’s third installment of her Blackberry Island series, we find a dysfunctional set of family dynamics. Nina Wentworth is a pediatric nurse, seemingly content with her life.  With the arrival of her high school sweetheart Dylan, the boy who got away, she is forced to take a second look at her life. Her sister, Averil is happily married but can’t seem to commit to having a family of her own and leaves her husband to come back to the island to “find herself” and complete her novel. Her mother owns an antique shop but can’t seem to hire trustworthy store workers.

Nina was pushed into being Averil’s mother instead of sister at at young age, because their mother Bonnie would not grow up and left them to go on antique hunts for days at a time. She let go of her dream of becoming a doctor and moving away from the island with Dylan. Now she is losing her control of everything it seems.

Kyle Eastland, a former islander turned Navy pilot, returns to woo Nina at the same time Nina is rekindling her friendship with Dylan. I found it really neat how different the relationships she had with both men were. She could let go with Kyle, but Dylan was a more serious relationship. The moment Dylan found out she was with Kyle was a shock. I could feel his pain.

An unexpected find in the antique shop allows Nina’s dreams to come into reach. If only she’d release the fear she holds and takes a leap of faith.  Averi’s journey to finding herself and Bonnie’s attempt to be an adult, is just as enjoyable to read. I really enjoyed this emotional story. If you haven’t read the other two books in the Blackberry Island series, don’t worry, they are stand alone books and can be read in any order.

Buy Link Evening Stars